Holy Family K of C Homepage

Holy Family [Council Number 9792]
3401 Lower Roswell Road � Marietta, GA  30068 � (770) 973-0038 �


Practical Catholic

What does it mean to be a "practical" Catholic in communion with the Holy See?

The answer is we, as Knights of Columbus, live by the basic truths of our Faith which are:

1. The Apostles' Creed
I believe in God, the Father almighty, Creator of heaven and earth.
And in Jesus Christ, his only son, our Lord; who was conceived by the Holy Spirit, born of the Virgin Mary, suffered under Pontius Pilate, was crucified, died, and was buried. He descended into hell; on the third day he arose again from the dead; he descended into heaven, sits at the right hand of God, the Father almighty; from thence he shall come to judge the living and the dead. I believe in the Holy Spirit, the holy catholic church, the communion of saints, the forgiveness of sins, the resurrection of the body, and life everlasting. Amen.

2. The 10 Commandments of God are:

  • I am the Lord, your God. You shall not have strange gods before Me.
  • You shall not take the name of the Lord, your God, in vain.
  • Remember to keep holy the Sabbath day.
  • Honor your father and your mother.
  • You shall not kill.
  • You shall not commit adultery.
  • You shall not steal.
  • You shall not bear false witness against your neighbor.
  • You shall not covet your neighbor's wife.
  • You shall not covet your neighbor's goods.

3. The Commandments of God may be restated in simpler form: the "Greatest Commandment."
The "Greatest Commandment" is: You shall love the Lord your God with your whole heart, your whole soul, your whole mind and you shall love your neighbor as yourself.

4. It is difficult for the unaided human being to live up to the Commandments of God.
To assist us in this regard Jesus has left us the Church and the sacraments. The sacraments are signs instituted by Christ to give grace. There are seven: Baptism, Penance, Holy Eucharist, Confirmation, Matrimony, Holy Orders and the Anointing of the sick. Baptism, Confirmation and Holy Orders can be received only once because these sacraments leave an indelible mark on the soul of the recipient. Penance, Eucharist, Matrimony and the Anointing of the Sick can be received more than once.

5. There are two kinds of grace:
Sanctifying grace makes us holy and pleasing to God. Actual grace helps us to do good and avoid evil.

6. The precepts of the Church are:

  • to assist at Mass on Sundays and Holy Days of Obligation.
  • to fast and abstain on the days appointed.
  • to confess one's sins at least once a year.
  • to receive the Holy Eucharist during the Easter time.
  • to contribute to support the Church
  • to observe the laws of the Church concerning marriage.
  • to join in the missionary spirit and apostolate of the Church.
    (Note: the first six are traditionally considered to be the precepts of the Church.)

7. There are six holy days of obligation:

  • Christmas
  • Solemnity of the Mother of God (Jan 1)
  • Ascension of the Lord
  • Assumption of Mary
  • All Saints Day
  • Feast of the Immaculate Conception

They are called "of obligation" because on these days Catholics must attend Mass, just as on Sundays.

8. Pentecost is known as the "Birthday of the Church."
On that day the Holy Spirit descended on the apostles, giving them the graces they needed to go forth and teach the Gospel to all nations. This is one meaning of the word "Catholic." The Church is found in every land, therefore it is "universal and worldwide."

9. The seven capital sins are:

  • Pride
  • Covetousness
  • Lust
  • Anger
  • Gluttony
  • Envy
  • Sloth.

10. The gifts of the Holy spirit are:

  • Wisdom
  • Understanding
  • Counsel
  • Fortitude
  • Knowledge
  • Piety
  • Fear of the Lord.

11. The rosary is a form of mental and vocal prayer centered on the mysteries or events in the lives of Jesus and Mary. The mysteries are as follows:

  • Joyful: Annunciation; Visitation, Birth of Jesus; Presentation of Jesus in the Temple; the Finding of the Child Jesus in the Temple.
  • The Mysteries of Light; Baptism of Jesus in the Jordan; Manifestation of Jesus at the wedding in Cana; Proclamation of the Kingdom of God; Transfiguration of Jesus; Institution of the Eucharist.
  • Sorrowful: The Agony in the Garden; the Scourging at the Pillar; the Crowning with Thorns; the Carrying of the Cross; the Crucifixion.
  • Glorious: Resurrection; Ascension; Descent of the Holy Spirit on the apostles; Assumption of Mary; Crowning of Mary as Queen of Angels and Saints.
Home Page2004 OfficersEvents CalendarWhy aren't you a Knight?News from SupremeNews from State